Nairobi fresh

Food. Chakula. Ugali. Chapati. Pineapple Mint. Githeri. Market. Fruit Lady. Grocery stores. Bargaining. I only need 5, not a kilo. Repeat customer=discount. Oh, there’s vegan yogurt. Yay! Avo toast. Bread. I. LOVE. BREAD. Fruits. Some familiar, some with a burst of enticing flavors to awaken my palate: custard apple, tree tomato, all manner of mango.

I am a creature of habit. Sure, I’ll try a new place, but, for the most part, I’m going to frequent the same eateries. Especially if the food is good and the people who are employed there are people people. You can taste the world in Nairobi. The only addition I’d make is Mexican food or Spanish food as we sometimes say in New York. Any takers? Chips (French fries) are prepared with a salty crisp at most places. Chips, as in potato chips, are made fresh on the corner with a little salt and lime and chili powder if you’d like. Fresh. Fresh like morning dew, like a spring morning, like the feeling of sunshine, like the breeze off the ocean table. Fresh. Even fast food here is fresh; lol, it’s just made faster than food in a sit-down restaurant. I’ll take fresh any day. I’ll take Nairobi, too, in all its ways.

More on food and my favorite places to eat in Nairobi in my e-book [Newbie to Nairobi: What I Wish I Knew & Discoveries Along the Way](https://www.amazon.com/Newbie-Nairobi-What-Discoveries-Along-ebook/dp/B0CPXC4812/ref=sr11?crid=3QA92QHHEZII4&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.ONj4WszhV15u7ZhsBNHpGSlXoeczcjsH2eDzv9C4kI.5fmUYkMClRZYlWCtENDJcbtXVR6rCFQc79i4JMm6njc&dibtag=se&keywords=newbie+to+nairobi&qid=1705835123&sprefix=newbie+to+nai%2Caps%2C754&sr=8-1). And while you’re reading, make you a cup of tea.

 

Hibiscus w/a Twist Reci-TEA ™

Enlist the following:

a handful of hibiscus flowers

½ a handful of fresh baobab or 2-3 tablespoons of baobab powder

2-3 cups of water

sugar to taste

a splash of pineapple juice for a tropical twist

strainer

 

Bring water to a boil

Add hibiscus and baobab and let steep for 10-15min

Add cane sugar to taste

Strain into a pitcher and allow to cool for several hours

Add splash of pineapple juice before serving