i commit to memory your every curve and angle the smoothest surfaces and all the sites where we entangle

as though in the remembering i'll conjure up your being as if on some dark lonesome night i still will hear you breathing

and wake to you and your bright eyes and ask if you want pancakes lie together scrolling down and showing me the hot takes

geometry parametrized and comprehensible neatly reproducible all sweet and sensible

but what good is an automaton without the mystery of whatever you might call a soul when you lie next to me, love

and so i deign to hold my fickle tongue although it makes me want to wail and weep and every morning when the daylight comes i'll ache for you until i find my sleep

as your city shrinks beneath the contrail and the skymall struggles with my pen i accept that nothing can replace you until you come into my days again