Work in Progress

A little while ago I was browsing Gifcities (archive of Geocities gifs from the way back machine) mainly for nostalgia, but it was more interesting to visit the sites they were used on.

There were some sites that were very personal and made me feel like I was invading someone's privacy, there were sites that had moved domains three times, there were networks of sites linked together via little banners, sites that aimed to catalogue something but stopped at 4 entries.

All of these sites were born of an idea and eventually abandoned, but the most important thing was to remind the visitor that it was not ready yet. And no proper website will ever be ready, which is why I think that under construction gifs are so important.

So anyway, I will finish this post later, it's a work in progress. I'll also move it somewhere that supports media files. Meanwhile, you can enjoy this exhibition (CW: Flashing GIFs, autoplaying music): https://museumofmediahistory.com/under-construction