The Unified Theory of Stuff

I have no idea what this blog is going to be about. I'm on a bit of a kick. Call it the kiss of the Muse.

In short, I'm pining for the good ol' days when we knew how to make shit, fix shit, and create objects that last forever. When we passed “stuff” down, not to landfills, nor recycling bins. I'm a minimalist, no doubt. Fewer things, better life. However, the things which are in my midst have to earn their keep. They have to be beautiful. Meaningful. And pass-down-able.

A few years ago I challenged myself to learn how to cook “everything”. This time, I challenge myself to learn how to make everything.

If it's broke, I want to know how to fix it. If it's weathered, I want to know how to repurpose it. If it's gorgeous underneath, I want to know how to restore it.

It's a rambling web I weave at this moment. But, as they say, if you're not embarrassed of your first attempt, you shipped too late.

#beginnings