Book Review: Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

A+ | A spectacular and solid fantasy novel that has everything I love: magic, a protagonist I can connect with, side characters that feel human, a romance that is actually believable and developed rather than shoved down my throat, an actual journey.

Where do I begin?

This book is marketed as Mulan meets Project Runway. However, it’s so much more than that. Yes, it has elements of both with the whole taking her father’s place after an imperial summons and the competition to design clothes. However, about 30% of the way in, it shifts to another direction – our protagonist, Maia, is sent on this impossible journey to craft three mythological dresses that had once been made for a goddess. She’s joined by the endearing Edan, the Emperor’s Enchanter. It has elements of The One Thousand and One Nights/The Arabian Nights and imperial China mixed into the fray.

I adored Maia. I adored Edan. I adored Lady Sarnai.

Each one of these characters felt human with real feelings, especially Lady Sarnai. I focus on her because she could have easily become this one-dimensional character that I could care less about, but she didn’t. Instead, I want to know more about this young woman – what are her motives? Why does she act the way she does? Believe in the things she believes in? What was her childhood like? Look, I know I’m focusing on Lady Sarnai here, but I can’t help it. She’s interesting. She reminds me of Empress Tanashiri/Danashiri from Empress Ki who was a character I honestly enjoyed more than Seung Nyang.

I love complex characters and it was so refreshing to see here.

As for Maia? God, where do I begin aside from reiterating how much I adored her?

I do. I adore Maia because she feels so real. She actually has a personality! It isn’t just filial piety that drives her to impersonate her brother, but her own desire to shatter the glass ceiling. Both are equally important to her. She never forgets either reason while she’s there in the imperial palace. Also, the fact that she makes mistakes is just an entire chef kiss moods. She’s funny and passionate and a hard worker. She could have easily won the competition if she used the magic she had at her disposal, but she didn’t once she knew what she had in her grasp. I have to admire her for it because she believed in herself and in her abilities so much.

Still, did I find myself shaking my head at her? Did I get annoyed with her? Oh absolutely. There were those moments when I rolled my eyes, to be honest. But still, the fact that I didn’t spend the majority of this book rolling my eyes is a good thing.

And by God, Edan? I loved him. He is enchanting and humorous and oh so imperfect. He is respectful, protective, and sweet, but also loves to tease Maia. When we first meet him, I honestly thought he was an ass – an arrogant ass who definitely needed to be smacked with a slipper. However, as the pages went on and we got to spend more time with him through Maia’s eyes, he turned out to be a good cookie. His story honestly pulled at my slightly blackened heart and

The relationship in this novel is a not a slow-burn, but it’s not all-consuming wildfire love that gets shoved down our throats, either. It’s a realistic relationship because it was built on friendship and trust and banter. It’s been a long time since I watched Empress Ki, but the relationship here sort of reminded me of Seung Nyang and Wang Yu’s relationship – at least before shit went down and she had to become Toghon Temur's concubine. It’s one of those relationships that I can cheer on, rather than roll my eyes at every time they confess their feelings for each other.

And we can’t forget about the worldbuilding.

One of the most essential things in fantasy is to have good worldbuilding – a universe that has weight to it. Any piece of fantasy media that has good worldbuilding gets a gold star in my book and it gets another if that fantasy is inspired by Asia – be it East Asia, South East Asia, South Asia, Central Asia, or the Middle East.

Spin the Dawn gets both of these gold stars. It’s definitely influenced by China which is just so refreshing to see. It felt like I was reading a novelization of a really, really, REALLY good Chinese historical drama with fantasy lovingly placed into it.

If you’re looking for a well-written fantasy with compelling characters, this is the book for you.

Thank you to Random House Children’s, Knopf Books for Young Readers, and NetGalley for providing me with an ebook version of ARC. I received this in exchange for a review. My opinions are my own.

#bookreview #ya #youngadult #fivestars #mostloved