My lab professor deducted points from my exam even though my answers were correct because I didn't answer the questions the way she wanted them answered. She didn't deduct points because I was wrong, she deducted points from my exam even though my answers were correct because she didn't like how I formatted my answers.

I have never felt more infuriated and disrespected in my entire life. I am not perfect. There were mistakes I made on the exam and I accept that I made those mistakes.

However, my lab professor legitimately took points off from my exam score because I didn't answer the questions how she wanted them to be answered. I answered the questions correctly and even she admitted that I answered the questions perfectly and hit all the major (and minor) points. But because I didn't answer the questions exactly in the order that it was written or in bullet points, because I added in a function (bacteria in the large intestine) in a question asking about listing two structural differences between the stomach, small and large intestines despite the fact that I did list other structural differences, because I listened to her and wrote out as much detail as possible for every question, she deducted major points from my exam.

I got an 88 – not because I answered those major questions wrong – but because she went on a power trip.

She took points from people because they went with the arrow format. She took points from people because they went with a short answer format. She took points from people because, despite the fact that they included the correct answer, they didn't repeat it in the second half of the question.

For example? One of my classmates wrote her answer to the question “Define Enzyme. Mention 3 characteristics of enzyme” like this:

Enzyme – a protein – biological catalyst – specific to their substrates

An enzyme is a biological molecule that speeds up reactions by lowering the activation energy, allowing products to be produced faster and more efficiently. They have optimal pH and temperature levels and will not function otherwise because their function depends on their shape.

My classmate got this question marked wrong. The lab professor deducted points because my classmate didn't mention that an enzyme was a protein and a biological catalyst in the sentence. She mentioned it in the bullet points above the sentence, but because she didn't include it in the sentence, she was deducted points.

Another? Ok!

A question asked about the peritoneal cavity and how it is divided into different compartments.

I asked another student who also got the question wrong what she was missing and we were both missing the same things: supracolic compartment and the infracolic compartment. Someone, please explain to me how I got a lower score on that question, despite the fact that our answers were pretty much exactly the same?

Guys, I'm more than angry. I'm completely and utterly infuriated.

I'm not going to complain about the time we were given. The time wasn't enough and it did screw up other students without a doubt. However, my anger is directed at how she graded the questions.

Who, but a professor on a power trip, would deduct points from people even though they answered the question correctly and completely?

#digitaljournalpost