Junk.

I’m an avid collector of junk.

Not necessarily limited to knick-knacks, but the vast majority of the junk I find myself drawn to is currently useless but potentially useful to someone eventually. I’m not a hoarder, though I expect I could be with the right motivation. I just see things as collectible even when they aren’t.

I collect, for example, books. Manga. Comics. Novels. Rare prints. Signed copies. So on and so forth.

I also collect book-related paraphernalia. Bookmarks, book covers, book ends, book-inspired clutter (like stickers, stencils, pens, paper, notebooks, journals) as well as e-readers and tablets. I just got a new Nook because I was convinced I needed it for notes for my book and guess what?

I don’t. I didn’t. I won’t.

The funny thing is, I don’t mind. Not really. Collecting weird things has kept me out of trouble and, whether I need the things or not, they’re typically things I can find for way cheaper used than new. ie: books.

But I’m well aware of the void I’m trying to fill with stuff, which is a product of a world built on consumerism and false connections. We make friends based on the things we buy. Our books friends, our car friends, our video game friends, our bbq friends. Forever and ever, we define ourselves with our purchases without even realizing we do this, congregating online or offline in places where money is meant to be spent to attain the good time we’re seeking.

My Reddit sort of reflects my interests, but it mostly shows how money-oriented I can be. I follow things like League of Legends because its a hobby of mine, but I follow r/frugal even closer. I browse probably 10 cat related reddit subforums, but I read r/wallstreetbets because I find the information necessary. What you end up clicking or reading or participating in can paint a telling picture of your life, and if you’re lucky, you can afford to waste money on a Nook you didn’t need because you’re in your thirties and don’t have children.

Anyway, I’m ranting. I’m trying to talk myself out of collecting useless shit but I don’t see a reason not to.

I’m less sad when I spend money. Is that normal? Probably. Is it healthy? Probably not.

One of my exes was well known for his online whaling habits, which meant he spent way too much money on a video game to prove to other people he had money to spend on a video game. It was laughable at the time, an earlier version of the internet would probably see him as a minority spender. Nowadays, I think I’ve spent more money on mobile games I dropped after a month or two than he did over the course of several years.

Remember: spending money makes me less sad.

Also: I am no sadder than I was before, but now I have money to use to avoid confronting it.