Vacation.

We did what people do when they have time off.

We left.

We were away.

In my mind, it’s necessary to pretend we’re cutting all ties, so I didn’t check up or check in. I removed myself from everything, all at once, and only came back when I was well and truly ready to do so.

There was the boardwalk, then the movies. Driving back and forth. Lots of shopping in San Jose. An anniversary dinner. GOfest.

I bought him (another) switch for his birthday. He bought me a phone. We’re a month or so early but we’re adults. We don’t care about birthdays. We don’t care about much of anything, but aging?

Aging offends me. The idea I’m aging is, without a doubt, the most offensive idea I’m willing to harbor. It’s cancerous to creativity, a great and terrible weight to bear. I don’t want to age. I don’t want numbers anywhere near my mind. I don’t want inevitability to masquerade as acceptable circumstance. I don’t want to die.

But we’re home now. This home. The new home comes later.

I had fun.

Cheers, Kat