Navigating the Contemporary Plagues of a Christian Man's Walk

Being a Christian comes with its challenges, akin to attempting to bite down on a diamond with cavity-filled teeth. Submitting to God's purpose requires obedience, like an exposed dog's belly, which can be intimidating. I'm not here to spark religious debate but to share my coping mechanisms. If only it were as simple as pressing an easy button like in Staples, I would have pressed it repeatedly, but the journey isn't that effortless. So, I decided to make my walk easier by eliminating the things that make it difficult. I coined them as “contemporary plagues,” and here they are:

  1. Digital Media: The most pervasive distraction of our time, with Twitter, Facebook, and constant digital noise vying for our attention, even in bathroom stalls.

  2. Print Media: Newspapers and glossy magazines can sidetrack our minds with enticing articles and images that lead us away from our spiritual path.

  3. Lustful Desires: The struggle with gawking and justifying lustful behavior can be overcome through a conscious effort to stop engaging in such habits.

  4. Influence of Friends: Evaluating the company we keep and being mindful of the values they promote is crucial for maintaining a positive Christian walk.

  5. Reliance on Self: Balancing our ambitions with seeking God's guidance through prayer can lead to a smoother and more purposeful day.

  6. Work-Life: Finding a balance between career and family is essential, prioritizing family over the rat race and establishing focused work habits.

  7. Material Desires: Resisting the allure of material wealth and fame, as they often come with sacrifices that can negatively impact family life.

  8. Mindful Words: Using language reflecting our values and setting a high standard for ourselves in everyday conversations.

By recognizing and addressing these pitfalls, I am actively working on overcoming them to enrich my Christian journey. As I strive for personal growth, I hope this list can help others seeking a more fulfilling Christian walk.

#christianlife

-Vino

My Portfolio: https://solo.to/vinofilms