Your Name vs 5 cm Per Second vs Spirited Away

I watched the “Your Name (2016)” in the cinema. I know Makoto Shinkai’s works, and I always put “5 cm per second” as one of my favourite animated films. And I certainly enjoyed “Your Name” on the big screen! And with all the awful animation films and another car sequel to look forward; I shouldn't say anything bad about “Your Name”. But the primary four reasons caused me to write this review:

  1. Many elements are borrowed from Spirited Away (2001), but they are the weakest parts of “Your Name”. Poorly handled and even misrepresented.
  2. Although in style of animation, “Your Name” is very similar to the directors' previous major work: “5 cm per second”, it is substantially weaker in the plot (and maybe even soundtrack).
  3. I tried my best not to nitpick. I'm not saying why this anime is inferior to Ikiru (1952). Furthermore, I compared “Your Name” to two other recent anime film which lent many elements to “Your Name”: “Spirited Away” and “5 cm Per Second”. Moreover, Shinkai is considered as the successor of Miyazaki and “5 cm Per Second” is the work of the same director. I think I have not been unfair to this anime or expected too much.

And also, I try to avoid sounding like people with hipster syndrome: older and less-known one is better!

“Your Name” has the great graphics: better than “5 cm per second”. The story sounds meaningful, and the voice acting is very well done. The graphics are just breathtaking, even for the Anime genre and definitely worth to be watch in a real cinema.

However, after going home and have a couple of days to forget the magical graphics, I started to notice many weaknesses of “Your Name”.

The characters are not developed, and they represent the most boring and shallow clichés/tropes in anime or even film industry itself. A lazy, manipulative script for such a great graphics!

This can be considered interesting when we compare it to his another work: “5 cm per second”. In the latter, we had real characters, people whom due to forces beyond their power got separated, and this separation took them apart in three parts.

“Five cm per second” has three clearly separated parts.

I liked that in the first part, the girl is the emotional one and then in the subsequent parts, it was the boy who had the role. That night and travel put the boy in a thin but real layer that doesn’t let him find intimacy with anyone. In both (second and third) parts, he is in sort of relationships, but he cannot move on from his memory of that night of train travelling and emotional intimacy in the part one.

The “5 cm per second” is great because though it is a melodramatic to an objective eye, but it has its base in reality and modernity. The film doesn’t try to rehash the most common clichés and tropes such as modernity vs. (very localized/nationalized) traditions such as the film The Last Samurai did.

Titles such as a cosmonaut or mentioning the first class train causing the delay for economy ones sound real to me. As I said, the story has its roots in reality.

At the end of the “5 cm Per Second”, you desire to tell the boy to move on. You wish to ask him to stop looking for the past and go to his house, where a real person is waiting for him. I enjoyed the scenes that show the boy and girl are thinking about each other and looking for each other at different times & locations. But the film also established that the practical part of the story. By the end of the film, you know the boy is constantly looking for her unless a closure happens and when it happens you understand why the boy didn’t pursue it and move forward in his path. They both had their closures, though at different times. I appreciate that the “5 cm per second” didn’t try to finish it with the two finding each other in the middle of a bridge during a sunset.

Again, I think the graphics and visual presentation in “Your Name” is greater! Although they are many similarities between style; “Your Name” is substantially evolved and enhanced.

In general, I found the infamous anime trope (said by Ian Jomha in 2013) in “Your Name” more than in “5 cm per second”:

… like some anime, where the main protagonist is just an innocent dude, going through daily grind of life, and then some magical … happens. He either gains some powers or something terrible happens, and he starts his journey. And of course along his journey, he meets nothing but hot anime chicks.

Finally, the question of the popularity of the “Your Name” in Japan comes to the mind:

I have one last major point to say: to critics and not general abidance. If you are a critic who disapproves Star Wars: Force Awakens and gave this anime full five stars.

In the end, I should admit I am criticizing “Your Name” harshly. I enjoyed it while I was in the cinema! I laughed to the jokes. I was breathless by the hand-drawn graphics. Not only that, but I am eagerly awaiting to watch Shinkai’s later works. And currently, by all awful but manipulative animations such “Sing”, it is just sad to say anything against “Your Name”.


Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

#FilmReview #YourName(2016) #5cmPerSecond(2007) #SpiritedAway(2001)