The Adventures of BATman (first and last part of a 1-Part series)

Let me tell you about that time when I had to transfer 250 Basic Attention Tokens into my wallet...

As you all may know, I'm an avid player of the Splinterlands online card game, and 3 days ago I participated in this funny little tournament:

It had a huge prize pot, but also a caveat... I needed to hold 250 BAT token! But I had 0 of them!

So... I went to Binance, purchased 274 BAT tokens for $0.77 each ($210 total), and then withdrew 251 tokens, paying a fee of 23 BAT (~$17). That's a steep fee, but given the prize money and the fact that there would be more BAT tournaments with mandatory holding, I thought it could be worth it. :)

Anyway, I played the tournament, and ended up 9th which gave me about $11 of prize money. Had I finished 8th I would have won $60 in prize money, but hey we can't always be lucky ;).

But then a little twist came... Splinterlands and BAT put up an announcement that holding BAT would no longer be required for future Brave tournaments.

So I realized that I no longer needed that BAT in my wallet, and moved it back. But I couldn't because I don't actually HODL any ETH ;).

So, as a next step I converted and transferred about $50 worth of ETH (costing about $10). I then used some of that ETH (about $15) to transfer back the BAT to Binance.

So all in all I won $11, but spent $42 in fees on ETH transactions. It was a rather appalling user experience and it really strengthened my belief that the ETH network has no serious future...

...but this story comes with a slightly happy end, because by the time I got the BAT token back to Binance, the price had jumped to a whopping level of $1.26!

So I sold my 251 BAT for $316 and by complete chance ended up with a profit on this little outage.

But never again please!

Meanwhile, my XRP was still priced at $0.46 all this time of course :).

Update: As of today the BAT token is apparently supported on the Binance Smart Chain. About bleeding time if you ask me!