Well, this is turning out to be a strange month...

2021 will be no less turbulent, I mentioned a few weeks ago. And indeed it doesn't appear to be.

A vaccine war in Europe, a GameStop war in the US, massive protest violence and plundering in the Netherlands... little did I know what was coming in those next few weeks!

In other news, I had my birthday a few days ago and my daughter has hers tomorrow, and despite the lockdowns we're still trying to make particularly my daughter's one very enjoyable :).

MG.social

One thing I very much enjoyed was chipping a little bit to help MatteoXRP with his efforts on MG.Social. His query was in the end not straightforward to resolve, but I hope my input was helpful for the cause. If you have your own project related to Coil or web monetization, and want my advice about a particular topic, then you can drop me a line anytime :). And if you haven't joined MG.social yet, perhaps it's worth considering doing so now?

Crowd-non-funding

This is also the month where our slightly more conventional attempt at raising funds (through crowdfunding) ended up unsuccessful. Theoretically, the COVID-19 Risk Map could still end up being funded, but I don't want to delude myself. Perhaps the platform was not ideal, perhaps the timing was off, or perhaps the purpose of the risk map wasn't clear enough. It could well be all three, frankly, so I'll try something different next time.

What's up next?

Ever since I got out of the leg cast and the new lockdown started, I've been thinking about my priorities in life, and reorganising my daily habits bit by bit. It's an ongoing process, and I will let you know when I've got a clear direction set again. But for the time being, I'm somewhat in exploratory mode, both in terms of work priorities and in terms of how to take this blog forward :).