The Printed Image Has Arrived

”jeremiah

If you read my post ”The Importance of the Printed Image in the Digital Age” from a few weeks ago, you will know that I have been searching for a professional photographic printing service here in China.

The local print shops can at times produce a decent image, however, it's not at the professional quality I am after and the results are often inconsistent. As a result, I decided to look at several online printing services. The problem I ran into with most of them though was that they weren't very transparent regarding their services. They might say “Epson” and “Fine Art Matte Paper”, but that's pretty vague. Maybe it's my Western mentality and the fact that I have some printing experience, but I like to know what I am getting.

This latest print, seen above, was ordered through 长藏映社. (You can visit their TaoBao shop here). The thing that impresses me most with this printer is their transparency; I know exactly what inks and paper they are using, and I know it's a quality that will last.

Additionally, they were willing to send me paper samples, trimmings actually, for my reference. This may seem like a small thing but the other shops I inquired with all told me, in so many words, “We don't have samples available.”

For this image I went with Hahnemühle's 100% cotton William Turner matte paper. It has a beautifully textured surface that really brings out the natural feeling of this image.

Before I close, I feel it is important to add that I find it at least a little bit ironic to be writing about “the importance of the printed image” and “experiencing the image” while using low quality images of printed photographs to illustrate my point. I would highly recommend ordering a fine-art print for yourself, either something from my portfolio or from your own personal work. If your worried about the logistics or language barrier, I can handle any retouching, printing, mounting and framing to make it as smooth a process as possible. Additionally, you might also consider scheduling a photography session to help record this season of life.

The expat lifestyle tends to be a transient one, and even more so than with most people, you never know what tomorrow might hold.

-Robert Wilson

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.”
Jeremiah 17:7-8
Phone: +86 159 6497 3922 email: rsw241@gmail.com