When You Off Your Butt, Great Things Can Happen

Today I learned that seeing the sunrise is a choice.

Instead of driving, I decide to ride my bike to the coffee shop. This journey takes me along a beautiful river, over two bridges, above train tracks, and beside our sleepy, glittering city.

I see joggers, people hanging out together, and walking their dogs. Old school socializing.

About half way into my trip, the sunrise. Pink, orange, purple, and blue pastels above the glitter. Of course it only gets better as the ride goes on.

For a moment I'm struck with a weird feeling of jealousy (or was it sadness?) that I'd not been able to see the many sunrises before this. All those joggers and dog-walkers got to see it.

Whose fault is that? The sunrise is there, every single day. And it will be there tomorrow. And every day after.

It makes no sense to regret missing past sunrises. I had a choice to get up earlier and ride my bike to the coffee shop. But I didn't. It was always there for the taking.

Since I tend to turn everything into an introspective life lesson these days, this experience is no different.

There's a ton of things in life that are outside waiting for me. I just have to show up and take them.