Not exactly the kind of rest day I want...

...but I've got no choice but to take it.

Yesterday evening I began to feel out of sorts and had some difficulty finding then holding onto sleep. The gut bomb hit in a big way about 04:30. It's a good thing my bedroom is so close to the bathroom. A couple trips from my bed to the “throne” were barely made in time.

The next several hours were spent doing little more than sitting slumped over on a chair by my bed or hiding under the covers. It was 10:30 before I felt well enough to move to the front of the house and force down a little food so I could take the morning's regular medications.

Now, in the early afternoon, I've got all the regular flu symptoms: sore joints, headache, vertigo, and an ugly feeling in my stomach. The LAST thing I want to think about is eating, though I will have to force down a little food again when I take the evening's pills.

So I rest, drink plenty of water, and wait for this mess to pass. I've already cancelled my plans to attend a business meeting this evening, The laundry can wait another day, the yard work will have to wait, too. And... today I rest.


by Roscoe