Conversation at the mailbox

16 April 2020 ~ 11:30

It was a pleasant, sunny afternoon when I walked out to check my mail yesterday. Pulling out the few letters and magazine that had arrived, I saw my neighbor approaching on the sidewalk. An older lady, she was walking her two little dogs as she does daily.

“Good afternoon,” I called out to her.

“How are you holding up under this lockdown?” she asked me.

Wondering how best to answer her, I chuckled and said as she passed by, “You know, things could be a lot worse.”

She laughed a little and said, walking away toward her house, “Actually, my life really hasn't changed much at all.”

For those of us older folks, long retired, especially those of us who have structured our living and financial situations prudently, and who are well plugged into the Internet, this whole pandemic shutdown thingy really isn't that big of a deal.

#SeniorLiving #pandemic #lockdown


by Roscoe