Not so shaggy, not too shabby. (100DaysToOffload – day4)

28 April 2020 ~ 15:00

Looking at myself in the mirror lately I've become rather annoyed by the wildness of my unkept beard and the shagginess of my hair. So I've done something about that.

It has taken three days to bring my beard back under control using just the grooming tools I've got here at home: clippers and razors. But now it's finally in good shape again: moderately close-cropped and trimmed.

Cutting my hair has taken much less time than taming the beard. For most of my adult life, especially for the last three decades or so, I've cut my own hair. Since I keep it very closely cropped in a military cut, that's pretty easy. All I need to do is run the clippers over my head until all is cut that can be cut and there it is. And that's just what I've done earlier this afternoon .

Yes, yes, a barber can give me a more “professional” military cut. And for the last couple of years I've gone to barber shops to have that taken care of. So I've gotten out of the habit of doing it myself. During this “pandemic lockdown” the barber shops are all closed and, well ... the man I see in the mirror each morning was starting to look shaggy and shabby. But, no longer!

As an older guy with underlying health issues I intend to hold myself in self-quarantine even after the economy comes back to life, until this current pestilence is purged from the land or until a vaccine becomes available. But at least I'm looking better now, and feeling better, and I intend to stay this way.

And the adventure continues.

I am participating in a blogging challenge called #100DaysToOffload. This is my day 4/100. Check out https://100daystooffload.com for more info.

#SeniorLiving #100DaysToOffload #grooming #beard #haircut


by Roscoe