Where the heck did THIS day come from!?

Saturdays under the current “plandemic” lockdown are supposed to be particularly quiet and calm in the Roscoe-verse. They are days when I don't have to set my alarm. (During her work week I wake first to fix her breakfast and make sure she gets her day started on time.) So Saturdays I can sleep as long as I like.

Waking at my leisure there is usually some kind of live Saturday sporting event on TV in the afternoon now. Thank you NASCAR for coming back to life! And then my Svengoolie in the evening.

As I was fixing this morning's coffee, she came into the kitchen and said,“Honey, I need your help with my phone.” She has an iPhone and I'm exclusively an Android guy. It turned out to be a problem that we needed her Apple I.D and password to remedy, and she had no idea what they are. She had somehow removed her Facebook app and couldn't retrieve it. But I WAS able to logon to her Facebook using my backup Android phone, so I'm letting her use it now. Not wanting to be left in any kind of lurch without a spare, I then ordered myself another phone. Darn, I was NOT planning to spend any money today!

After I'd sorted all that out, I got a text from the neighbor lady next door. She said she needed help and gave me instructions about feeding her cats. WTF?! So I went next door to see what was going on. Before she could unlock the door, a fire truck pulled to the curb and the EMTs rushed up. I stepped back and waited in her yard as the guys got to work.

Turns out she was more than a little drunk. She'd twisted her ankle, sprained it, and had fallen. The guys helped her out to a chair on her front porch, took her vital signs, and tried to figure out what was going on. One of them came to me and asked, “Is she always this argumentative?” I replied that, yes, she pretty much always was. She was insisting that she'd broken her leg, and they were saying that, no, it didn't look like any bones were broken. She demanded to be taken to the hospital, so an ambulance was called and off she went. On her way across the yard she gave me her keys and asked me to take care of her cats.

My wife was napping throughout this drama. When she woke I told her what had happened I said that she'd probably be back home from the hospital after sobering up with her sprained ankle wrapped. Sure enough, later in the afternoon there was a knock at my door. Someone had given her a ride home and was asking for her keys. Sheesh!

That's enough excitement for me. Svengoolie comes on in a few minutes and I plan to enjoy the show in peace and quiet.

The adventure continues.

Published on 06 June 2020, this is my post number 28/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blogging #phone #drama


by Roscoe