Yesterday's walk, etc. (100DaysToOffload – day3)

27 April 2020 ~ Noon

I was pleasantly surprised and more than a little nervous when Sylvia suggested we take a walk through the neighborhood yesterday evening. We have both been concerned about weight gain during this lockdown and Lord knows we could use some healthy exercise. So we donned our mandated masks and set out walking.

The plan originally was simply to walk around the block. (We have big blocks in our neighborhood.) After the first 50 feet or so she suggested, “This is nice. You know, if we were to walk two blocks over then double back, that would be even better.”

At the far end of the second block she had a good stride going and my hips were starting to ache. We turned right at that corner and, by the time we reached the next corner and turned again to head in the direction of our house, she was still strolling happily while my leg pain was increasing.

We finally got back home and she happily remarked at how much she was sweating. I mostly groaned. All I wanted to do was change clothes and sit still. Sit. Very. Still.

After relaxing for awhile, we decided that we'd had a good experience and we should make our evening walk a daily thing. So as I move through today's regular chores I know I have another walk to look forward to this evening.

And the adventure continues.

I am participating in a blogging challenge called #100DaysToOffload. This is my day 3/100. Check out https://100daystooffload.com for more info.

#SeniorLiving #exercise #walking #blogging #100DaysToOffload


by Roscoe