Makes me wonder...

Mystery Apps

Like many of you, I suppose, I have way too many apps on my phone. To keep things organized, I store links for the most commonly used apps in folders. There's a “Social” folder, a “TV, Radio” folder, a “Games” folder, a “Shopping” folder, a “Utilities” folder, and several others.

This morning I was more than a little surprised to find two brand new widgets staring at me! I've got them circled in red in the screenshot above. I did NOT put them there.

Now, I know what they link to, at least in part. The USPS Mobile app allows easy access to several Post Office services that I use, usually from links in emails, other times from a browser on my laptop. And the QR Code links to a nifty personal information sharing tool I experimented with on my laptop recently.

BUT at no time did I download these apps to my phone, and I certainly never stuck their widgets in my phone's Utilities folder. I wonder who did.

Then I see this article about the Postal Service clandestinely monitoring social media posts of conservatives, and I wonder again about the mysterious appearance of those apps on my phone this morning.

The mystery continues.

Posted 21/Apr/2021 ~ 16:00 Central Time #blog #technology #apps


by Roscoe