One of my quicker wins

19JanWin

Email this morning brought notification that I'd won another Correspondence Chess game as my opponent playing White resigned, giving me the win by default..

My 14...Nxf3+, forking White's King, his Queen, and his Rook does look rather dramatic on the face of it. White's next move, of course would have been to capture that attacking Knight with his g-pawn.

But then I could have put his King in check again with another fork attack, my Black Bishop taking his f-pawn, the Bishop there being defended by my Knight at g4. After he moved his King to safety I'd have traded that Bishop for his e1-Rook.

This was my first time playing this particular opponent, and I'm rather surprised that he resigned the game to me when he did. Some guys are really attached to their Rooks, and losing one feels almost like losing a Queen to them. Perhaps he's one of those. Who knows?

At any rate, our board at game's end is pictured above and our full move record is below.

1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.Bb5 Nf6 4.c3 a6 5.Ba4 Bc5 6.d4 b5 7.Bc2 Ba7 8.O-O O-O 9.dxe5 Ng4 10.Bf4 h6 11.Qd2 Re8 12.Na3 Bb7 13.h3 Ncxe5 14.Rfe1 Nxf3+ 0-1

And the adventure continues.


Posted 19/Jan/2021 ~ 11:35 Central Time #RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #chess


by Roscoe