So now it's a pair of solitary hobbies...

Over the past 10 days or so I've been steadily ramping up an old hobby of mine, SW and MW DXing. I still have the portable multi-band radio that I used for shortwave listening in the late 1990s, and it appears to be in pretty good shape despite its age. A few days ago I added an external antenna to improve reception. And I've found a welcoming FaceBook group and an interesting YouTube Channel devoted to this hobby that help keep me informed and enthused.

Though I've not been posting too much about it recently, my correspondence chess play has picked up quite a bit. I'm carrying a bigger game load now and spending more time on my games. Most days find me working at least an hour on the games, and sometimes it's much more than that.

Both of these hobbies are solitary by nature and perfectly suited to the socially restricted lifestyle forced on us during this time of covid.

While they keep me from obsessing over the fake news of the day, which is a very good thing, they take time away from what has been my primary hobby for the last several years: my blogging.

Now that I've wiped the hard drive on my laptop and given it a fresh OS installation (that was yesterday's big chore), it's running faster and operating more smoothly. Hopefully that will make my writing easier and allow me to resume more regular blogging. We shall see.

And the adventure continues.

Posted 07/Feb/2021 ~ 14:05 Central Time #RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #hobbies



by Roscoe