Jed McCaleb to Keep 1,000 XRP “Just in Case it Moons”

Nearing the end of his historic sales of billions of XRP, Jed McCaleb, co-creator of the XRP Ledger and creator of the Stellar blockchain, has announced his plans to “hang on to 1,000 or so... you know, just in case it moons.”

“I mean, it makes sense,” said McCaleb, who left Ripple in 2013 and has since sold nearly 9 billion XRP tokens on the market. “Imagine if I get rid of every drop and it moons? Could I live with myself knowing I could have been rich??”

Jed McCaleb explaining to XRP-Productions reporters how rich he could be if he holds on to at least 1,000 XRP and it moons one day.

Members of the online XRP community had mixed reactions at the news, some happy McCaleb sees value in XRP while others worried about his possible continued whale status.

“He's holding 1,000 XRP?” said 4-year holder Leonard Mingus in an online forum. “Goddamnit! Next year when it's $589, we're STILL gonna have to deal with JED! ARRRRGGGGHHH!!!”