I might have fallen.


I might have fallen for you despite those empty eyes and a troubled mind with thoughts you would never dare to share out loud. I might have wanted to make your reality a better place, like that small hut that we went to, and how you said you would've liked it more if there were drizzles and petrichor—I might have fallen for you as I promised myself to be every single drop of rain in your very own storm.

Or like that one particular evening when the sunset refused to be seen, hiding behind the gloomy skies. We got a whole list of love songs you said you couldn't relate to, playing through the earbuds we share on our longest bus ride home. I know I might have fallen quite hard when I wanted it all to make sense to you.

I might have fallen quite hard when I wanted to be the reason why you feel things. I might not be the butterfly parade in your stomach, but I hope I can at least be the vague sound of downpour on your roof tonight, bringing you peace as you are falling asleep, safe and sound.

-D.