zstix

music

Two #music posts in a row, but I'm just trying to get this project off the ground. Today's album is a vast (hah) departure from the smooth jazzy guitars into a realm of static, grinding, droning metal. I'm going to be reviewing Wolves in the Throne Room: Two Hunters.

Read more...

A few weeks ago I decided that I wanted to move away from a subscription-based #music streaming service to a self-hosted option that allows me to play my music files (funkwhale). Unfortunately, all of my physical CDs are gone and most of my digital copies are incomplete due to service-hoping in the early 2000s. I was able to scrape together about 2k tracks to get me started (down from roughly 15k).

In order to build up my library again, I wanted to do something good for a change: support the artist. Every week I plan on purchasing two albums (I'm not made of money) directly from the artist (if possible). As part of the process, I want to do a little write up of what I'm listening to. I'm hoping this process will help me connect more with my music library and make intentional decisions.

Enough preamble, let's get into a review of Infradig: Clinical Indifference / Psychology of Breathing.

Read more...