Baby haiku

Tired gritty eyes Parents greet the new morning Joyful baby smiles


Taking inspirations from “whereitsdue”, who has now reached 58 haikus on their blog (congrats and keep them coming!). I don't think I've written a haiku since in (high) school last century. Fun though. Had to remind myself of the rules (5-7-5 syllables). Went down a brief rabbit hole of wondering how many syllables are in tired... but ultimately I'm still too tired to worry about it. Guess I could have opted for weary instead but I prefer it the way it is.

This little poem is about waking up in the morning after a restless night of sleep with a baby. The last line is an attempt to capture that moment when my baby daughter opens her eyes and gives me a pure smile of happiness, none the worse for the night. It's amazing and life-affirming to behold, with just a slight element of wry (yet accepting) frustration that as parents our night wasn't smoother!

As a full disclaimer before anyone sympathises/empathises too much with me, The Canadian does most of the hard work in the mornings with the babe as she is better at the start of the day! As a balance, I tend to rock our babe to sleep in the evenings. Swings and roundabouts (although those will have to wait until little legs get going!).

Got to go get ready for work now. Babe has been dropped off at nursery – I need to wash that sleep grit from my eyes!


Entry 63 of my participation in the “100 Days to Offload” challenge – find out more and join in!

2021-03-10 #100DaysToOffload #fatherhood #poetry #haiku

Next post | Previous post | Home | Archive | Search