Coffee – the only way to start the day!

Beep-beep, beep-beep – coffee alarm! coffee alarm! Beep-beep, beep-beep – coffee alarm! coffee alarm!

Every morning The Canadian wafts aromatic steam in front of my nose from a coffee mug as she stands besides the bed. I blurringly try to focus my eyes and murmur my semi-coherent thanks.

After a bit [insert non-binding time period here], I pull myself up in bed and take that first sip of life-affirming black coffee. Mmmm. The bitter but comforting normally-still-hot liquid dances over my tongue, warms my mouth and throat as it slides down to my stomach. It'll be a little while before it kicks in but I'm already feeling more human.

I check the time on my phone, maybe check the news and half-way down the mug I'm ready to get out of bed. It'll take a shower and another mug of coffee before I'm fully awake but look out world, here I come!

We have an arrangement, my wife and I. One of those mysterious harmonies all successful relationships have. I'm not sure that we ever really consciously decided but somewhere in our 10 years of marriage we fell into a natural rhythm. I'm more of a night owl and will quite often stay up a little later. One of the last things I do, every night, is set up the filter coffee machine for the next day. The Canadian almost always gets up first and ready to greet her in the kitchen is a fresh pot of coffee. After she's had her first cup and some quiet time on the couch, she brings me a cup in bed.

Beep-beep, beep-beep – coffee alarm! coffee alarm! Beep-beep, beep-beep – coffee alarm! coffee alarm!


Entry 7 of my participation in the “100 Days to Offload” challenge – find out more and join in!

2020-06-04 #100DaysToOffload #coffee #marriage