Couch to 5k complete!

Work, life and the weather got in the way of starting Week 6 of my Couch to 5k adventure. However, my first longer continuous run (20 min) at the end of Week 5 had gone well and I was feeling restless so I went out and ran a 5k on Friday 5th instead in just under 30 mins – wahoo!

Last week was brrrr cold and I wanted to give my right knee the benefit of some rest after that impetuous 5k, so I waited until Friday 12th to run again... and this time logged my second 5k in a little over 30 mins. Both runs were along an enjoyable route with back alleys, with a total of 122 ft worth of uphill running and 143 ft of downhill action.

So I guess that's my Couch to 5k completed before the end of the programme! It was a fantastic way to get into running again. The trick now is to try and keep it up, logging 3 runs per week, building more stamina, speed and strength before (maybe) increasing to 10k. I'll need to dig out my old training schedule from the last time I worked up to that distance but I shouldn't get ahead of myself – time to put in some solid work at this distance first. I also need to continue to support my brother and wife in their own Couch to 5k journeys.

Looking at the Cardiff weather forecast for the coming week I should be able to get a few runs in around the inevitable rain!


Entry 57 of my participation in the “100 Days to Offload” challenge – find out more and join in!

2021-02-14 #100DaysToOffload #running #CouchTo5k

Next post | Previous post | Home | Archive | Search