Free time!

I have the apartment to myself this afternoon, The Canadian and the babe having gone off to see our friends and their little one now that we can resume our social bubbles here in Wales. What to do, what to do?! Well, I'm kicking off by sitting on the rocking chair with a mug of black coffee, my Linux Star Lite laptop in my lap, blogging away and listening to Whitesnake's Greatest Hits album on the CD player. Old-School I know – but there is still something rewarding and pure about listening to an album you physically own from start to finish.

I think I'll read a bit of a novel next on my Kobo Aura One e-reader. I've just bought the last Dresden Files novel, Battle Ground by Jim Butcher. I mainly borrow e-books from the library, as one advantage the Kobo has over Kindles (apart from being an alternative to the Amazon behemoth) is OverDrive integration. There are a few authors who I will buy from at full, premium market price. Authors whose work has brought me joy over the years and who I want to reward for that. My Kobo tells me that I have ten books by Nalini Singh, five by Richard Morgan (I went on a bit of a memory lane reading binge when Altered Carbon came out on Netflix), and now two by Jim Butcher.

Coffee, blogging, music and reading – all wonderfully restorative actions. Maybe I'll pick up a guitar and play that too. Or maybe I'll spend some time getting back to digital de-cluttering and organising – although that sounds a bit too much like work, however rewarding it may be!

The world outside is overcast, the autumn leaves on the ground a little damp but who knows, perhaps a walk later could be in order, listening to a podcast as I go along.

Free time is a wonderful thing to have again!


Entry 41 of my participation in the “100 Days to Offload” challenge – find out more and join in!

2020-11-09 #100DaysToOffload #coffee #music #reading #self

Next post | Previous post | Home | Archive | Search