Slow grey morning

Through the open window comes the noise of traffic Doppler-shifted, there's less than there used to be Lazily reaching up from the street to my ears Then fading away like smoke Dissipating into the world

I see and hear The cool breeze gently rustling the branches of the beech tree Though no bird chirps to disturb The coming and going of cars Their passing as waves cresting and greeting The urban shore

A chainsaw! Noisily interrupting the peace Intruding the purposeful drive of humanity On this grey and overcast day Breaking my contemplation and urging me to activity

Today is slow but you're now resting on me as I write Dreaming 'puppy dog' baby dreams Cute little noises easing me into the day Panacea to my tiredness

Alas it's time to move my little one I'm out of coffee


Entry 22 of my participation in the “100 Days to Offload” challenge – find out more and join in!

2020-08-05 #100DaysToOffload #poetry