Sustainability in tech

I recently came across the company Framework, whose USP is a fully repairable laptop. Shouldn't seem revolutionary but somehow it is in this age of planned obsolescence and glued/welded components. Reminds me a little of Fairphone, who are also trying to disrupt tech hardware with their emphasis on ethical sustainable supply chains and modular, replaceable components.

I applaud both of these efforts and wish them luck. For me, I'm happy with my deGoogled, secondhand smartphone, which is doing its bit for both the Circular Economy and breaking free of the data intrusiveness of Big TechTM. On the laptop front, if Framework are still in business when I need a new laptop, I'll check them out... and certainly recommend them to friends who are looking.

Also on the topic of sustainability in tech, an interesting article recently on the BBC's website highlighted how the push towards Net Zero, electric vehicles etc. will need a short term increase in mining for the raw resources needed for batteries (as well as smart tech). If not properly regulated across this global supply chain and operated hand-in-hand with a move towards recycling and reusing these components, there is the potential here for definite negative consequences on the environment and human wellbeing.

Changing gears somewhat...

...life gets busy sometime and blogging has to take a back seat (it's been 2.5 weeks since my last post). Change is afoot at work and we're also looking to move, upgrading from renting an apartment to renting a house with a garden and everything. Feels very adult (says the man in his forties with a kid!). Meanwhile the weather has been great recently, which puts a smile on our faces but incentivises outdoors activities rather than typing away! Maybe with a garden I'll combine both, along with a nice cold beverage...


Entry 90 of my participation in the “100 Days to Offload” challenge – find out more and join in!

2021-06-02 #100DaysToOffload #sustainability #technology

Next post | Previous post | Home | Archive | Search