zymotux

Islay

A few nights ago I had my first glass of whisky in 8 weeks. And it tasted good! When my daughter was born, I celebrated with a dram of 16 year old Lagavulin (naturally), a favourite of mine as well as Ron Swanson from Parks & Rec. Then came the whirlwind of 8 weeks of newborn during which I pretty much scaled back to low abv beer to survive. Finally, with my wife and daughter asleep I turned the lights down low, put on some chill-out music (Air) and poured myself a finger of Kilchoman matured in a Red Wine Cask (Douro Valley, Portugal) that I picked up from the distillery on Islay when we visited in 2018.

Read more...

I may add a search bar at some point but for now, you can also navigate posts according to hashtags, grouped below in a way that makes sense to me and evolving as I post more. Expect a mixed bag. Some of the posts will feature the tagged topic as the central focus of the post, others will merely touch on it. If you'd prefer to scroll through a timeline of posts, head to my Archive.

Read more...