zymotux

family

It's nearly nine months since my Dad died. On Monday I pulled out the suitcase containing his CDs from the corner of the dining room where they'd been sitting since I brought them by train from my Mum's house. I put on one of the last CDs I listened to with him (music bringing him moments of peace towards the end), sat on the hallway floor in front of my CD storage units, and arranged them in piles, A-Z. As Dire Straits turned into Meatloaf I integrated them into my CDs, mixing his eclectic choices with my own.

Read more...

How can I capture? Memories, both good and bad As the years fly by?

Read more...

We're in Canada now, introducing our little one to my wife's side of the family. It's her first time encountering snow and so far she loves it! The highlight being the pure joy in her face as I pulled her and her Mom around in an orange plastic sled in the local park, especially sliding down the gentle slopes.

Read more...

Odd mood, sat between Ill health of ageing parents, Toddler's vital spark.

Read more...

My wife, The Canadian, has started a Write.as blog. Check it out and give it some love over at https://write.as/mapledragon. Hopefully, having two of us on parallel blogging tracks will keep us going! I do like having shared hobbies and interests. We did both have Wordpress blogs years ago, that time around with her starting one first (on expat life and running) followed by me (on beer and homebrewing).

Read more...

I may add a search bar at some point but for now, you can also navigate posts according to hashtags, grouped below in a way that makes sense to me and evolving as I post more. Expect a mixed bag. Some of the posts will feature the tagged topic as the central focus of the post, others will merely touch on it. If you'd prefer to scroll through a timeline of posts, head to my Archive.

Read more...