They Said I Could Be Anything When I Grew Up, But I Was Already A Girl (I'm Living Proof)

I still can't see past next week It feels like an eternity and I Can't keep waiting up Life's for living 'til we're dead But I'm not finished writing yet and I Hope you're keeping up I can't keep saying “it'll be next year”

(I wanna be “me” today) Fuck your opinion – I'm not listening Cause I won't let those words take hold of me I'm not afraid to be me (fuck, if I'm not a girl, then what gives you the right to tell me) Fuck your opinion – I'm not listening Cause I'm done being afraid to reach my peak I'm not afraid to be me I'm not afraid to be me

I still can't see past next week I'd even fear it in my sleep and I Can't keep waking up Dreams are meant to be lived out No, I won't let you shape my doubts and I Won't stop looking up I can't keep saying “it'll be next year”

(I wanna be “me” today) Fuck your opinion – I'm not listening Cause I won't let those words take hold of me I'm not afraid to be me (fuck, if I'm not a girl, then what gives you the right to tell me) Fuck your opinion – I'm not listening Cause I'm done being afraid to reach my peak I'm not afraid to be me I'm not afraid to be me

There's always so damn much to fear There's always something creeping near And I can't wait inside my room forever clutching my own sides

There's always someone making fun There's always some fuck with a gun But I can't let that stop me living for the first time in my life

(I wanna be “me” today) Fuck your opinion – I'm not listening Cause I won't let those words take hold of me I'm not afraid to be me (fuck, if I'm not a girl, then what gives you the right to tell me) Fuck your opinion – I'm not listening Cause I'm done being afraid to reach my peak I'm not afraid to be me I'm not afraid to be me

(I'm not afraid to be me) Fuck your gender roles, fuck biology (I'm not afraid to be me) I know that I'm a girl, don't need to “wait and see” (I'm not afraid to be me) 'Cause I'm not done yet, I'm just at the start (I'm not afraid to be me) I'll keep on writing 'til I empty out my heart

[Yeah, in case you hadn't noticed, I'm a fucking girl – deal with it.]