Performative Existence

Absurdism

Realizing the absurd 1/?

I have had the biggest fucking problem trying to synthesize a theory of how I think the universe works and where I belong exactly I belong in it. I have gone through a great number of philosophies, self help plans, and even a religion or two. All in a search for some greater meaning to my own life. And even beyond that, looking at moral philosophy only complicates the whole mess. How is one supposed to act when they don't even know where the moral compass is supposed to be pointed?

Of course, I hit the big ones, Nihilism, Utilitarianism, Pragmatism, Existentialism. That last one eventually got my close enough to make the leap to where I'm currently sitting on my whole “theory of everything” idea: Absurdism. That's to say that meaning is absurd, none of this means fuck all, and what's the point of trying to find a place in a universe that is so very indifferent to my very existence?

That complicates just about everything else, morally speaking, except for Stoicism. I hate what Ryan Holliday and Tim Ferris have turned the philosophy into, but it's roots are still strong. My sphere of control is so infuriatingly small, that all I can really focus on is that. Anything else would be...well, absurd.

#Absurdism