The Land of Broken Puppies

One of my favorite songs has a line about there being two kinds of men in this world. As my brain sifts through my experiences since I started seeing other men I notice that it has distinctly made two categories. The first is the previously written about angsty man stable, and the second shall now be known as the land of broken puppies.

In the land of broken puppies lives the men who need women as their anchor. They are a lot of men. I understand it really. When I ask, none of the men talk to other men in a meaningful way, their wives have been their strength and their confidants. What do you do when you need to confide and your confidant is part of your issue?

These men cling to you like a life raft, and if you are not careful, and like me, you will amass a collection of them. It does not take long before they are telling you all the hurts they are suffering at home, all the ways their wives aren’t meeting their needs.

Today I vanquished another man to the land of broken puppies. He sent me broken heart emojis, I promised to keep feeding him there along with the others.