What You Need

I can be what you need. It's the story of my life really. I have become so skilled in anticipating needs, and how to meet them, that I think they are my own. I am not even sure how I would know what I need. There are moments when I catch myself mid action and I have the thought, to what end? Why are you doing this thing? Who does it make happy?

The most fascinating detail is that almost never is the answer me. I will be what you need without a second thought, it's not your fault really, you did not even ask, you didn't even know that I was subtly realigning myself to the shape of your need. It's simply what I do. Tomorrow I will shift slightly to accommodate another's need of me.

And so. What happems when our needs are not the same? I will move over. I will accommodate your need. I will assume my need is wrong and should be shoved deep down to the parts of me that stay hidden. I will break in weird places to realign to you. I will be what you need.

how could I possibly be anything else?