Eat! – “Gregada od liganja” (calamari) – Squids Stew

Dear Coilers, quite some time after my initial thoughts to post some of my cooking skills, I’ve decided to finally do it, thanks to Patricia and Cintia who are already established Chefs in the community.

As the Covid situation made us all not being able to travel freely, many have exchanged their suitcases for pots and pans.

I am not new to this, but last few months I try to research old local recipes and play with them a bit. You would be surprised how many traditional recipes, even two thousand years old, are still prepared in local cuisines!

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=463161326068303088

In Eat! series I will try to present you dishes from my country, Croatia, cuisine of which vary from the Mediterranean one, thru continental to that of the Turkish influence.

I myself prefer Dalmatian cuisine but many of the old recipes from other parts of the country are amazing too.

I always try to use local, seasonal and fresh ingredients if possible which makes the whole cooking process longer but it pays out thru the taste in the end.

For the first episode I’ve decided to prepare a dish which was cooked in the time of Old Rome but the recipe was adjusted in 16th century when potato entered the cuisine of Old Europe.

Made it following the recipe of my grand granny who ran a restaurant in her days and was well known Chef in the city of Makarska.

GREGADA OD LIGANJA (CALAMARI) – Squids Stew

For 4-5 persons:

1kilo calamari 🦑

1kilo potatoes 🥔

4 onions 🧅

8-10 cloves of garlic 🧄

10cl of extra virgin olive oil

20cl of white or rose wine

A fistful of fresh parsley, salt and pepper to taste

The process shown in the Cinnamon video for the subscribers

Thanks for reading,

Srdan

Continue reading with a Coil membership.