Making A Short Film

Dear Coilers, as you know, I like shooting things. With cameras. Today I’ve decided to make a short film to show you that everyone can do it.

I was asked about my cam skills by a Coiler yesterday. I’ve said it was just a matter of practice and learning from those who know the matter.

The equipment is not that important. This one was shot with a mobile phone (with some extra hardware and software but still... with mobile alone you can get similar/the same thing).

In this short film I’ve tried to implement tips shared by our dear Coiler John (writing this on iPhone so cannot tag him here).

He taught us about the importance of details in filmmaking. Story, camera, sound, framing, music, editing... every piece is important to get something watchable and pleasing to the eyes in the end.

In this one the story is simple. A tired man comes home from work and all he wants is a sip he was thinking the whole day about. The spin off in the end makes it an intro to my Dram! series about whiskies.

I’ve used a camera angle which is not too usual, especially not by the people who take their phone out, point and shoot. But the angle adds to the whole atmosphere. Play with the camera angles, it is fun and it makes a difference.

Editing was a bit of a challenge as I had to synchronize steps and sound.

But if you take care about it while filming, it is much easier to do it.

When switching frames I’ve taken care of the rhythm of steps and legs movement. If previous frame ends with the left leg step, you can’t step with the right leg in the next one!

Music was chosen to add to the sentimental atmosphere (The Moment by Robert Miller)

It took me about 4 hours to set it, film it and edit it. Filming alone took just about 30 minutes to make 14 shots of which I’ve chosen 9 (as I can remember).

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=449176961953040304

I hope you like it...

Continue reading with a Coil membership.