Mr. S’ Christmas

Dear Coilers, you already know Mr. S. I’ve told you his story, twice...

His situation is still all but enviable, during the Christmas season even less. Cold and humid basement he calls home doesn’t help either.

But there are always people willing to help those in need so Mr. S had at least somewhat of a Christmas.

I went for a walk (just came back and writing this) and to have a coffee (to go as bars are locked down) in the neighbourhood across the main road from where I live. There is a small tobacco shop where I knew I’ll find him and check was he happy with his Christmas present.

I’ve taken a “latte” and talked to a guy working there who told me that he had seen Mr. S half an hour ago collecting empty bottles. So he will be here again soon...

...and soon he was there.

He was in a good mood and pretty talkative. I’ve taken him a beer and he told me that he was thrilled with the package he got. A wool beanie hat and gloves, 3 big sausages, a few cans of meet cheese, cans of pâté and sardines, big box of Christmas cookies, ready to eat meals, a big steak...

Then his mind transferred him back to the past and he was telling me anecdotes from his days in Libya, about how everything was better in communism and the time his wife was still alive...

I’ve mostly listen without saying much. There are not many people willing to listen to his stories. But to be honest, he really has some interesting stories to tell!

Then he told me about his Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (while lighting a cigarette) and how he lost his bronchodilator inhaler and pills so he has to wait for 10 days to get new prescription as he can get a month worth therapy every 30 days. To buy new dose before he gets the prescription costs about $50 so he decided to go without...

...so now I have to fetch him those on Monday. I just don’t want him to pass away before he eats all that food.

Anyway, Mr. S had somewhat of a Christmas, a fact which made me and a few more other people happy. Helping those in need is what all of us should do.

Making someone’s day will make your day too, try it, you’ll see I’m right.

Thanks for reading,

Srdan