cakefordogs

lgbtq

Content note: UK politics, ableism, transmisia

The headlines of precisely how and their stated reasoning - the exact euphemisms for ableism and transmisia and how it's all so necessary - coalesce into a huge, sticky, amorphous blob that seems impossible to fight. I'm sorry. I feel like a failure for not being able to find a way to keep everyone safe from here in my bed. I wish I was something more than one small sick queer trying to stick their body and mind back together with no tools. Yet I think this is the best thing I can be when so many people want me to stop.

#poetry #mecfs #lgbtq+

A chest binder is a kind of hug. A hug is a kind of reassuring squeeze, A promise of protection, warmth, And a chest binder is a kind of protection, a kind of warmth. I wear a hug and it protects me, Keeps me safe, Squeezes dysphoria into a tight embrace Until it defrosts into something new, something calming, Something warm.


Inspired by this post

#poetry #lgbtq+

I push the clear gel out of the bottle and hold it up to the light as it sits in my hand spreading out, almost but not quite losing its shape. Gently, I use my thumb to divide it in two. I slide half to my other palm, leaving a glistening trail behind. I put my hand to my shoulder and feel the pressure of my palm through the gel as I move my hand down my arm. Reassuring. A gift from myself to myself.

This is my daily ritual, my promise to myself. I have seen my pain, dissociation. I have recognised it. I will make my future better.

I close my eyes at the coolness on my skin as everything unnecessary evaporates.

#poetry #lgbtq+

I want a relationship where We spend our evenings cuddled on the sofa Netflix and chilling and it's not a euphemism Then head to bed where we press our bodies against each other in our pyjamas Reassuring, telling each other through touch “I'm here, you're safe” And kissing, before we drift off into sleep Not going further because there is no further Only other people's relationships in a dynamic that works for them And our relationship, different from theirs but no less whole


A poem about my experience of asexuality, originally posted on Valentine's Day

#poetry #lgbtq+