June 29, 2020

My mother's clarinet

A box full of reel to reel tapes and a projector

Slides and a slide projector, my parents' memories of Hawaii and Mexico

Old VHS tapes of Elvis and Simon and Garfunkel concerts

A lifetime of Nintendo cartridges and a dusty box full of Atari games

Tomb for my childhood …

The G.I. Joe headquarters, the Cobra headquarters

He-Man's Castle Greyskull, the Horde headquarters with rubber cobra hand puppet

Grandpa's pocket watch, his pipe collection; I suspect my mother had a scrap book of her own with different odds and ends in there

The plaster of Paris Christmas ornaments we molded; mom, my sister, and I; then we painted them

She had made these clothespin ornaments, white felt glued on, round peach heads with drawn-on eyes, delicate halos on top. We put those on the tree for as long as I can remember.