Monday 9th November – day 5 lockdown #2 Today has been a day of discomfort for various reasons. Firstly I had to get up early for the joy of going for my 5-yearly smear test – ouch – and that was with the smallest speculum going and a very nice gentle nurse. I must say her bedside manner was really lovely. Secondly – car in for annual MOT and service – it passed all fine but I am £300 poorer – hey the price of car ownership I know. The trim at the back bumper which had come adrift (my fault) has been fixed Thirdly – I discover today after speaking on the phone with the helpful woman from the solicitor, that the searches were not ever requested. I went to them via an introducer and it is the introducer who arrange the searches – now I didn't know this and thought the solicitor did this. At the time I told them to hold off for 2 weeks as the chain wasn't confirmed, but on liaising with the solicitor later and making reference to searches, it seemed everything had been requested, so I assumed all was well. But it wasn't! Anyway they now have been requested after multiple phone calls and once they come in, I shall make a complaint. But it is sorted. My Natalie came round – she took some stuff from the garage and we had a natter and coffee and looked over my new house (again again). She declined the orange polenta cake I made yesterday – weird child – she says she was made to eat a funny orange dessert as a child by the Mitchell clan (Marguerite?) and this has scarred her for life (!) and she doesn't like orangey stuff (only orange juice). Marguerite used to do weird stuff, like make Matthew a carrot cake for his birthday (which he hated) rather than chocolate (which he wanted). Mind you, I actually really like carrot cake. So I'd have been happy :–)