When Grace Lays You Bare

There's a line in a prayer that I reflected on this morning that says,

Let us bless thee at all times and forget not how thou hast forgiven our iniquities, healed our diseases, redeemed our lives from destruction, crowned us with lovingkindness and tender mercies, satisfied our mouths with good things, renewed our youth like the eagles. (Valley of Vision, 382)

There are two responses this that run through my heart and mind to this and they are intertwined. I think that they feed into one another.

On the one hand, I feel gratitude. The reality that God has done these things for me leaves me overwhelmed with thankfulness. As I meditate on God...

Forgiving us. Healing us. Redeeming us. Crowning us with lovingkindness and tender mercies. Satisfying us. Renewing us.

I am laid bare. He has done so much. The grace is overwhelming.

On the other hand, I am broken. I am broken because I don't recognize this reality often enough. Too many times I am the ungrateful servant who though been forgiven refuses to do the same for my fellow servant.

Oh that I would learn to #LoveWell!

Oh that I would see in my neighbor a divine image bearer who I can extend grace and mercy too.

Oh that I would live as one crowned with lovingkindness and tender mercies!

How about you? How do you respond to that prayer?

Discuss...

If you made it this far, thank you for reading! If you found this helpful, insightful, interesting, or even just kind of average, would you please share it with your social feed?

If you aren't receiving these posts in your inbox please subscribe right here: