Memories

“If only you’d try” they say, shaking their heads My dismissive shrug met with frustration Truth, this place is petty cruelties Suffering with their implicit blessing, so why should I care?

Sitting on the bleachers, failing gym because I will not disrobe in front of these monsters in child’s guise This, I tried, never again Cruelties I do not care to revisit

English, the teacher kind to me I want desperately to please her but I cannot see the board without the glasses I have lost I shrug, I am too afraid to ask for help

“What are you wearing” they ask Laughing, pointing at the clothes my mother made me Happy, thinking she was helping Not understanding the pettiness of children

Later, Facebook, friend requests From those who once bullied me And those who stood by Thinking we were friends because I’m skinnier now

Because I can afford nice clothes Because I am traveling Forgetting how they laughed And made me feel worthless and weak

You could have been kind to me then When I was desperately seeking connection Were I able, I would find it in myself To find your weaknesses and be cruel to you too

#poetry #teenangst #memories