Connection

Just two days ago, on Wednesday, I had an amazing online-conversation with an 81-year-old British guy, that flipped my mindset into a much better state.

I first discovered his website more than five years ago, and a few days ago, after seeing a post from him on LinkedIn, I reached out to him and booked a time in his calendar.

We followed a simple co-consulting protocol. After introducing ourselves to each other for 2 minutes each, we took turns listening to each other without interruptions.

First, I got to talk about my current situation and what troubles me about it for 15 minutes, then he asked a couple of very good questions that helped me to shift my mindset quite a lot.

Next, I listened to him for 15 minutes while he talked through a difficult decision that he had to make. In the end, we were both happy and had learned a lot.

It felt to me like I made a new friend in less than an hour of conversation.

And I realized how delighted, hopeful and alive it makes me feel to connect with other people.