Last Duty Blues

Last duty of the year, two patients in respiratory distress. One was intubated and the other one expired. I was swamped with patients at Emergency room. I realized it must be one of those last duty syndromes. Never the less, it was a good thing I had a breather and got to get a photo of the night.

It reminded me the tranquility and serenity of the night. I had the chance for a few minutes to look up, feel the fresh air, and thank God for the vastness of the universe and for the blessings and graces I received.

This is my 8th year as a physician; 1 year practicing as an Internist and despite all the difficulties and trials in 2023, I’m still thankful for the blessings I received this year. I am thankful for the patients who shared their lives with me. I have learned much from them and I hope I was able to heal their ailments. I am thankful for my mentors for their sharing life lessons with me, everything beyond the medicine life. I am thankful for the handful of friends who stayed in my life. We don't need much many friends, just a few trustworthy ones. I am thankful for my wife and small family. And I hope that in the next year it would grow some more.

I don’t know where I’m going next year, but I hope it will have elements of new beginnings, living well, laughing often and loving much. May God give me the courage to serve, the compassion of an emphatic physician and the competence of outstanding doctor.

Happy New Year Everyone.

Day 37 of #100DaysToOffload. Find out more about it here.