365 Days of Cardio and Content Creation

I have 2 new goals wrapped into 1 🏃🏻‍♂✏

Why am I doing this?

I’m doing this because challenges are important. More specifically speaking, I am doing this to get my mind-body-spirit more aligned. I feel these two, cardio and content creation, are a perfect marriage — and I aim to better understand the relationship between them.

Cardio

The cardio I will be doing will be running. If I get bored with running I will mix it up with something different. Running is a solid choice though; it is simple and travel-friendly. My goal here is at least 45 min./day. Currently, I am only able to do approximately 10–15 min. of light yogging. I have been consistent with this for the past few days when I got the idea in my mind. I have no problem waking up early at around 5:15–5:30a in the morning and heading out the door — that part is relatively easy. The challenge here is building up my stamina enough to where 45 min. is easy. This is a good mini-challenge inside the bigger challenge right now.

Reaching 45 minutes is exciting to me because I know that once I reach the 45 I will reap the mental benefits from cardio. The mental benefits are really why I’m doing this. I would say that is my number 1 motivating factor with all of this. I want to really feel what that feels like. I know it must feel amazing. Even with the amount I am able to do currently, I am noticing a positive thing unfolding. To make things more enjoyable and fun, listening to music, an audiobook, or anything positive helps. Running without headphones is also nice if you want peace and quiet. Today, I listened to the Moneyball score. I know I will reach 45 minutes in no time. It’s a process.

Content Creation

Content creation goes hand-in-hand with exercise. If my mind is right, if I have clearer thoughts, then my creativity will be in tip-top shape. Without giving my mind a workout, my thoughts are sluggish and not really there. I like to write in the morning right after I shower. When I do this (minus the exercise) it feels extra hard to come up with ideas on the spot. A lot of the time I am just sitting there staring blankly at the blank document waiting for something to happen. Letting go helps some, as well as writing from a pure place. This isn’t what I want entirely though. What I want is to for my words to flow easily and effortlessly onto the screen. I want that artistic, natural flow where my words are just pouring out of me. Coming up with ideas and having something to say out of thin air should be a thing of the past. If I am treating my mind right then my imagination oughtta run wild and free. There is a wholeness and pureness I am seeking. Where my thoughts and words are in a symbiotic relationship with each other. I want to be able to hear my thoughts clearly and for it to not feeling I’m just churning and grinding gears up there.

A couple of days ago when I started this yogging, I noticed an immediate difference when I got back to my desk and started typing. It felt so much easier to come up with things to say and I was more in that effortless state. I want to have to pull back from typing like a mad man rather than sitting, thinking, and brooding over what to say.

I am not limiting myself to just writing with this challenge either. There are many mediums I am free to explore: videos, audio, podcasting, interviewing, public speaking. I have always thought of myself as a creative-type. I have made some interesting things in the past, but when I’m honest with myself, I don’t see much creating happening. When I do create, it is for my own private archive or library. Where’s the fun in that? Thoughts and ideas don’t really do much if they just sit idly in your mind or in a document for your own viewing. The fun and magic happens when you are vulnerable and share your thoughts with the World. This is so easy nowadays with the Internet and everything. Of course, there are some things you want to just save and have for yourself. But, I know I can do better, try harder, and simply do more. I want to see what I’m made of exactly. By sharing content you have the ability to help someone as well. It is truly exciting to inspire others and spread positivity in the process. You never know what people are going through and if they need what you have to say at that exact moment. I know many people who have helped me in various ways. So I am myself, how am I providing value? What am I doing to help? Am I adding to the story?

Soft Launch

I officially will begin this 365-day challenge on June 1. I still am going to run and create content up until this date though. So consider this a soft launch à la a startup company.

Pushing Through

It is very important to remember to push through when things get tough. Our minds have a tendency to be a little bitch sometimes. For example, before writing this, my mind was firing off this lame whiney excuses as to why I can’t write this. It would say things like “it’s too late to start now”, or “your best writing is in the morning”, and “just wait until June 1st”. My mind would also tell me things to make it easier too like “the article doesn’t have to be too long if you don’t want it to be.” Sometimes it’s best to just not listen to your mind, tell it to stfu, and start. I am here to tell you, that by pushing through I am able to get this article written and published to share with you all. 😊