Feel the Wind

Hi, How Are You

Hi, I hope you are well and safe in the World. 🖤

Happy June

Today marks the first official day of my 365-day challenge! 🥳 I have been enjoying the challenge thus far. Some days are surely better than others. Sometimes I feel like writing more and other times not as much. As long as I write something though, I'm good. Once I can catch that flow I'm okay.

There have been days where I haven't been able to catch it. Usually because I get too tired. But I must press on. Tonight is one of those nights where I must digg deep and just write. I am writing from my phone rn. Sometimes I like this better because I can just chill on my bed, listen to music, and write. It feels like I'm texting the Universe. 🤙🏻

Changes

With everything going on in the World, I am feeling less and less connected to social media. It is good to stay informed but I feel it has a mostly negative feeling when I log onto them. It makes me feel uneasy so I feel it's best to keep my distance as best as possible. I need to discipline myself more and be more strict with myself. I am trying to rid myself of the junk and feed my mind with as much positivity as possible.

Writing helps me get clear on what to focus on—on what's important. I sometimes think about before. Like my past. I think of what made me feel good. And how to fill the time with good. It's easy to get caught up in things that really don't amount to much other than depressed or anxious feelings. I know it's important to stay informed and stay in the loop, but I also want to be smarter about where my time goes. It's easy to get drawn in and in a lot of ways social media is worse than the traditional television.

I guess I'm somewhat torn because I don't want to sound ignorant or anything like that. I would say it's mainly for mental health reasons. I'm also torn because I want to create content but there is so much content out there so I don't want to just add to the noise.

I feel like people may need to slow down and have a different approach to connecting. I'm not really sure what that looks like. Off the top of my head, it would look like simpler, smaller connections, tighter communities, and embracing good old-fashioned friendship. It would also look like going back to basics with things that deliberately slow me down away from the computer, like writing free-hand letters and reading. It would also mean doing things that bring me joy like creating things. I feel like that is a good motivator, for lack of a better word. I want to create something that wasn't once here before. I want to open myself up, with all my vulnerabilities and imperfections and just share.

Cold Tofurkey

What I've learned recently from myself and through conversations with other people is that sometimes you just have to dive in. Your mind may come up with 21 million reasons not to do something. A lot of that is fear talking though. For example, is it unwise to quit a job before you have another lined up? Perhaps. But sometimes you have to leave something that clearly isn't what you want before something new and potentially better shows up in your reality.

I recently asked a content creator if they had any tips for someone just starting out. They told me to just dive in. Diving in is often the best approach. Dipping your toe in the water is okay but it's more fun and exhilarating to just jump in the damn pool. You can bitch and complain by saying it'll mess up your hair or the water is too cold, or you can just say fux it and jump tf in. 😛

Think of how you learn best when there's something you wanna do. Do you learn best by reading and researching about it? Probably not. You will learn fastest by doing. By being in the moment you'll be experientially learning. This is super exciting. Don't worry about sucking if you're first starting out. Welcome the suck. Don't worry about being perfect either as this will only kill creativity. The most successful artists aren't often the best ones—yet the ones who put out the work faster.

It's okay to feel nervous and uncertain. With the fear of the unknown, things could go in various ways. Whatever happens though, you will learn from them. So, with that logic, you are always right where you need to be. You don't need to have everything figured out right away. You can always course correct. Use the wind in your sails to your advantage. ⛵