On Again, Off Again

RIPMyWallet

In the last 3 or so weeks I’ve gotten back into “analog” notebooks and all the trappings that come with them — pens, stickers, washi tapes, and other ephemera. It (kind of) all started because I saw this little dialog exchange in Heartstopper between Nick and Charlie:

Now, I say it “kind of” started because of this comic scene because I’ve always been into collecting and using different stationery and pens. I stopped buying new notebooks and pens and stuff because I had a collection already built up and wasn’t using them. I also kept trying to substitute digital handwritten notes for paper notebooks, since they (in theory) were easier to manage. But I’ve always been of two minds about digital vs. analog notetaking, flipping and flopping between them randomly.

Well, anyway, I saw this dialog in Heartstopper and thought maybe I could pick up a fountain pen and try it out. I’ve never really had a fountain pen. When I was much younger, I had a small calligraphy set that I sort of used, but not a regular fountain pen that I used for normal penning. And when I was into using physical notebooks more often, years ago, I usually wrote with a gel or a pigment ink pen with a fine tip — your Sakura Micron pigment pens, Pilot G2s, or Staedtler Triplus Fineliners (not sponsored by JetPens; they’re just a cool stationery/pens site). I thought fountain pens would be a pain to use, precisely because of what happened to Nick, with his pen exploding and ink getting everywhere. But I started researching a cheap, but good fountain pen to try anyway, and was dithering about buying a Kaweco Sport, because I liked how small they were. Off and on I also was thinking about getting one of those notebook cover systems where you can use different inserts, like a Traveler’s Company Notebook or the way more expensive, German, Roterfaden Taschenbegleiter line of notebook covers.

One night I had major insomnia and was browsing JetPens again, and just made a snap judgment to pick up the iridescent pearl Kaweco Sport fountain pen, a passport-sized Traveler's Notebook starter kit with the blue leather cover, and some odds and ends. I was so excited to set up the notebook when I got it, but then I wasn't sure what I'd write in it. It seemed too special to just use it for grocery lists and other random notes. Besides, I had the Obsidian app on my phone for all of that kind of stuff. I settled on filling it with quotes and images that are interesting, inspiring, and/or insightful. This means that I'm not always writing in it, but the stuff that I have written has been delightful to revisit.

Click on the images below to see more info on Flickr (full gallery link)

I've been watching some journaling videos on YouTube, as one does when one has an interest in anything, and they've given me ideas on what I would like to do with my Traveler's Notebook, and with other notebooks I have lying about. But they're also teaching me about cool stationery and pens I don't have... I've also been researching other fountain pens, washi tapes, and stickers. I came across a “vibrant violet” Kaweco Sport AL pen which I purchased so fast after I read about it.

I learned of “demonstrator” fountain pens which are clear and show off the inner ink reservoir and feed mechanism. Just today I watched a Twitch stream where I learned about sticker books with release paper, and some other brands of washi tapes that are so cute! #RIPMyWallet

So, yeah. I’m back into collecting notebooks, pens, stickers, washi tapes, etc. But the big difference now is that I’m actually aiming to use this stuff. For the longest time I bought all of these things and had this nagging feeling in the back of my head that I should save them…for what I don’t know. What is the point of having these things if I don’t actually use them?? I might as well not have them. *smh* Besides, I’ve always felt wistful when I see someone page through a full sketchbook or journal, wishing I had these cool artifacts of my own life, so now I’m finally working on making them.